After an accident occurs, there’s a certain time period where legal action can be taken. That time frame is called a statute of limitations, and in the state of Delaware, it clearly defines the length of time you have to file a personal injury lawsuit against a person or entity that has caused you harm due to negligence.
To earn more about statute of limitations for Delaware personal injury cases, contact a local personal injury attorney. In doing so, you’re able to employ the skills of a knowledgeable lawyer who can council you on how to proceed.
What Is The Time Frame to File a Personal Injury Case in Delaware?
The amount of time you have to file a personal injury case in Delaware varies depending on the specifics of each case. Here are some general statutes of limitation:
- Negligence: 2 years
- Medical Negligence: Plaintiffs are allowed to file claims against healthcare providers within a two-year window from the time the injury occurred. If an injury was unknown and couldn’t be discovered within that two-year window, plaintiffs can file a suit up to three years after the date an injury occurs, but nothing further. Additionally, minors are allowed to file grievances anytime during the first six years of their lives.
- Product Liability: 2 years
- Wrongful Death: 2 years From date of death
- Survival: 2 years
Delaware doesn’t have any limits on economic or non-economic damages. But the state only allows for punitive damages when malicious intent to injure or willful and wanton conduct is clearly proven.
What Kinds of Incidents Can Result in Personal Injury Lawsuits?
You might be wondering what kinds of incidents plaintiffs are able to file personal injury lawsuits over. Here are examples of these types of accidents:
- Car, truck and motorcycle accidents
- Premises liability accidents
- Dog bites or other animal attacks
- Slipping and falling on someone’s property
- Retail store negligence
- Nursing home and treatment center abuse
- Accidental death
Each of these cases has a specific set of time limits for filing, so reach out to an attorney to find out more.
Call a Delaware Attorney About the Statute of Limitations in Personal Injury Cases
If you find yourself the victim of any of these kinds of incidents within the last two years, it’s in your best interest to contract a personal injury lawyer. Our attorneys at Doroshow, Pasquale, Krawitz, and Bhaya will help you achieve the results that you’re entitled to under the scope of the law. Accidents happen, but that doesn’t mean that you need to suffer forever as a result of them occurring. By hiring the services of a personal injury attorney, you’re making sure that you get the compensation you deserve. Give us a call today to learn more about statute of limitations for Delaware personal injury cases.