Delaware Sex Offender Laws
Under Delaware state law, both adult and juvenile sex offenders who are convicted of specific sex-related crimes must be registered as offenders under 11 Del Code § 4121(a)(4). These offenders are categorized by the Delaware Attorney General’s office or by a sentencing court according to a Risk Assessment Tier.
What are the Sex Offender Requirements in Delaware?
Sex offender registry requirements in Delaware vary by tier:
- Tier III offenders are considered high-risk and are required to confirm their address and place of work or school every 90 days.
- Tier II offenders are considered moderate risks and are required to confirm their address and place of work or school semi-annually.
- Tier I offenders are considered low-risk and are required to confirm their address and place of work or school yearly.
No matter the tier, all offenders on the registry in Delaware need to update the registry every time they change schools, their place of work or their residence. This update must take place within three days of the change. In order to confirm the information on their registration, offenders needs to apply in-person at the appropriate offices in New Castle County or Sussex County.
If sex offenders are homeless, they are required to verify their location in-person at these offices on a specific timetable. For Tier I offenders, they need to apply in-person every 90 days. For homeless Tier II offenders, they must appear in-person every 30 days. Tier II offenders who are homeless must arrive at these offices every seven days.
Any violation of the registry requirements can mean additional jail time. Violations of the registry can be classified as a misdemeanor or felony and can affect future sentencing if a person is convicted of another crime.
Anyone who is on the Delaware sex offender registry needs to take care that they do not violate the terms of the registry — even in minor ways. Doing so can mean penalties as well as further restrictions to freedom.