In Delaware, you do not need a blood test or physical exam to get married. In order to get married in the state, you must go to a county clerk’s office to apply for a marriage license. Your marriage license will indicate the requirements you need to get married, which can vary by county.
In order to get married in Delaware, you must pay a marriage license fee. There is no residency requirement in the state. Once you get your license, you must wait one day to get married. After you get your license, you must marry within 30 days before the license expires.
In order to get married in Delaware, you must either get parental consent or be at least 18 years of age or petition the Family Court for authorization if you are a minor. You may need to provide a birth certificate to prove your age. If one or both partners were previously married, you must provide a death certificate for the previous spouse if you were widowed or provide a certified copy of a divorce.
Divorce in Delaware
Just as there are requirements for getting married in Delaware, there are requirements you must meet in order to get a divorce. If you would like to end a marriage, you will want to consult with a divorce lawyer in Delaware to ensure your divorce is legal and you are protected during the proceedings.
While you are not legally obligated to retain a divorce attorney, doing so can provide a useful resource for you as you work your way through the court system, alimony, child support payments, and the other factors you must address when dissolving a marriage.
If you’d like to contact a divorce lawyer, get in touch with Doroshow, Pasquale, Krawitz, and Bhaya. Our attorneys are skilled in both negotiation and trial and we have handled thousands of divorces as well as family law cases. With us, you are in good hands.